cmwc 2009 flier bike polo

CMWC Bike Polo Tournament

The Tokyo Hardcourt Bike Polo crew are hosting a tournament to go with the Cycle Messenger World Championships. Just because the “Worlds” of bike polo split from CMWC this year does not mean CMWC won’t have any polo. (It also does not mean that 2009 is the first World Championships of bike polo) Here is some text from Tokyobikepolo.

Place: Various Locations in Tokyo
Hosted by: Tokyo Hardcourt Bike Polo

Date: 19th Sept. (Saturday)
Registration Time: 10:30 a.m.
Registration Fee: HDPE pipe for mallet’s head or Flanklin SHD Ball (or Mylec & Franklin’s “Glow in the Dark” Hockey Ball) per person. (both are hard to get in Tokyo!) a set of pipe and ball? two or more pipes and balls? fantastic! we don’t forget your support for Tokyo’s scene, never!

Games will begin at 11:30 a.m (pick-up).Tournament will begin at 12:30 a.m.
single elim. tournament.
Only 16 teams can register to play in the tournament. If more than 16 teams register to play, we’ll randomly select 16 teams from the list. (You can register as an individual: Please find your team mate on location before the tournament begins!)
Registry Requirements: All registered CMWC 2009 Tokyo participants

3 on 3
7 min./3 points.
final & 3rd place final is 10 min./5 points.
We abide by the NYC game rule.

some pick-up games.
losers of tournament, some local bike polo teams, and riders from Kyoto.

all games are not serious! it’s fun games for our guest of CMWC & local bike polo players.
We want to provide a hangout for all the bike polo loving messengers of the world.

If you want to register, please email us at the below address with all the necessary information listed below (1~3). We will get back to you with the game location and details.


1. your team name
2. your name/race no. of cmwc (000 to 999)
3. member’s name/race no. of cmwc (000 to 999)

We are also looking for referees.
Contact info:


1st place: “filthy fucks
Marco Creacy / NewYork, USA
Timothy Mason / Portland, USA
Kai Edel / Cologne, Germany

2nd place: “Team Switzerland”
Dominique Candik / Basel, Switzerland
David Beerli / Basel, Switzerland
Mario Rhyner / Geneva, Switzerland

3rd place: “Team Australia”
Lane Dell / Melbourne, Australia
Joe Cavenagh / Sydney, Australia
Safa Cunt / Sydney, Australia

4th place: “416″
Shane Murphy / Toronto, Canada
Maija Eliashevsky / Toronto, Canada
Ian Brosco / Halifax, Canada

and MVP of the tournament.
Kai Edel (filthy fucks / Cologne, Germany)

and some pics are here.